DETCOG Chooses Lynn Torres For President


The Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) Board of Directors has chosen Lufkin City Councilwoman Lynn Torres to be its next President.

The board unanimously accepted the recommendation of its officer nominating committee. Her election took place during the organization’s March meeting in Shepherd, Texas.

Torres will be sworn into the office at the Board’s June meeting in Nacogdoches.  She will start her 2017-2018 term on July 1, 2016.

Also elected to serve as DETCOG Officers were Houston County Attorney Daphne Session as First Vice-President; Trinity River Authority representative Bill Holder as Second Vice-President; San Augustine County Judge Samye Johnson as Third Vice President;  Center City Councilwoman Joyce Johnson will serve as DETCOG Board Secretary and Jasper City Councilman Alton Scott will serve as DETCOG Treasurer.

Current DETCOG President, Angelina County Judge, Wes Suiter will hold the position of Immediate Past President.

The next DETCOG Board Meeting will be held in Shelby County.  It is scheduled to be held on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

Grace Baldwin
(Bethany) Grace Baldwin has an Associate Degree in Journalism from Angelina College and is working on a double major of English and Journalism at Stephen F. Austin State University. She thoroughly enjoys reading, writing, and has an indelible passion for words.

Share post:



More like this


This weekend on FreeCast

<!-- * { box-sizing: border-box; } body { margin: 0; padding: 0; } a { color: inherit !important; text-decoration:...

Capitol Update: Reflecting on Texas Independence Day and Community News

Last week, Texans from every corner of the state...

McMorries Adding New Doctor, Changing Name, Expanded Services

McMorries Obstetrics Gynecology & Infertility is planning several upcoming...

Swinging into Community: The Story of Nac Swing Dance

In the heart of Nacogdoches, Texas, a unique community...