Bruce Miles Receives Texas Forestry Association’s Ed Wagoner Leadership Award


LUFKIN, TEXAS – Bruce Miles was named Texas Forestry Association’s Leadership Award winner at the Association’s 101st Annual Convention held at the Hilton in College Station, Texas, on October 22, 2015.

Miles received the award in honor and recognition of his dedication to the profession of forestry, for his leadership as the sixth Director of the Texas Forest Service, and for his dedication, leadership, and support of Texas Forestry Association (TFA) programs.

As a member of the TFA since 1959, Miles has been a leader in the forestry industry for many years. He became the 6th director of the Texas Forest Service in 1981. He served as the Director for 15 years and retired in 1996 with 37 years of service.

Miles is credited with providing the leadership and support for the private land reforestation in East Texas, which reached record heights during his era. He also battled against environmentalist groups bent on eliminating forest management on the National Forests of Texas. He was elected into the Texas Forestry Hall of Fame in 2008 and is a TFA Life Member.

“During his tenure as State Forester, he took the Agency beyond the ‘pine curtain,’ said Bill Oates, past president of TFA. “The urban forestry program grew to include all of the major metropolitan areas of the state; the Cooperative Oak Wilt Suppression program was established in Central Texas, and the Agency began responding to large wild land fires in Central and West Texas; beginning with (at the time) the largest wildfire event in Texas history; the “Big Country” Fire at Albany. He also expanded our support of volunteer fire departments across the state.

The Ed Wagoner Leadership Award recognizes a TFA member, a community leader or public official who has contributed to the success of the association’s programs and the advancement of the forestry community.  The award recognizes the high standards of leadership of Ed Wagoner, who served as the Executive Vice President of TFA beginning in July of 1955 until his retirement in December 1983.  Chosen by the TFA President, the award is given to an individual who has continued a high level of involvement and leadership in TFA for many years.

“He is an honest, dedicated, selfless, loyal, and compassionate leader,” said Oates. “Those who know him and who have worked with him simply know him as ‘Bruce.’”

Misty Boggs
Misty Boggs is the Creative Director at MSGPR. She lives in Angelina County and recently earned her bachelor's degree in Public Relations and a minor in Creative Writing at Stephen F. Austin State University in 2020. She is currently working on obtaining her MBA from Lamar University. Between studying and working, she enjoys teaching her niece and nephew the fine art of never growing old.

Share post:



More like this

Governor Abbott Provides Update On Ongoing Response Efforts Following Hurricane Beryl

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott announced today that Texas...

TxDOT Continues Cleanup After Beryl

LUFKIN – TxDOT crews in the Lufkin District began storm...

Stay Prepared: Texas Hurricane Readiness and Legislative Updates

Our region of Texas is all too familiar with...

Angelina College Weekly Update

Hey, sports fans, This past week saw the Roadrunner family...