Angelina College Recognizes Students at Honors and Awards Ceremony


Angelina College on Tuesday recognized students at the annual Honors and Awards Ceremony held at the Temple Theater on the AC campus.

Students earning honors included those named on the Fall 2015 Dean’s List, new inductees into the Upsilon Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and Who’s Who at Angelina College.

Jordan Mumm Diesel Technology Student of the Year_Honors and Awards Ceremony April 2016
Jordan Mumm accepts his award as the Angelina College Diesel Technology Program Student of the Year during Tuesday’s Honors and Awards ceremony held at Temple Theater on the AC campus. The ceremony also recognized new Phi Theta Kappa inductees and Who’s Who at Angelina College, among others. (AC Press photo)

Jordan Mumm also received an award for the Diesel Technology Program Student of the Year.

The ceremony’s guest speaker was Dr. Freddie L. Avant, Associate Dean of School of Social Work at Stephen F. Austin University.

Keren Debose and Joshua Robinson, music majors and members of the AC Singers, performed a duet to “The Prayer.” AC music instructor and pianist Beckie Compton performed the prelude, the procession and the postlude.

Phi Theta Kappa’s Spring 2016 inductees included the following:

Chase Adams, Lisa Adams, Erick Alamo, Frank Alamo, Brooke Ashley, Derika Bailey, Destiny Bailey, Madeline Barnhill, Gebrial Berry, Michelle Cardiel, James Carr, Heather Cathey, Brandon Childs, Sherra Claxton, Wanda Connor, Jarod Cook, Holly Copeland, James Copeland, Stacey Crane, Christa Crump, Gina Dameron, Mikayla Davidson, Zachary Dickens, Kaitlin Dickerson, Ali Dillon, Diana Diosdado, Johnna Dixon, Rivers Doolan, Tina Douglas, Darcie Dubler, Kelby Durham, Candece Eastwood, Brooke Edwards, Elizabeth Eng, Emily Eng, Ma’kaela Finley, Caitlyn Fisher, Danielle Foley, Kayla Francone, Katelyn Frankens, Melanie Gore, Megan Greusel, Jacqulyn Grimm, Wade Grogan, Edgar Guevara, Wanda Gulley, Rosio Hernandez, Zaira Hester, Kimberly Hickman, Rachel Hicks, Kerbie Holmes, Kimberly Holmes, Hannah Hopson, Ryan Huls, Tammie Jacobs, Richard Johnson, Ysleta Kapraun, Nicole Kilmer, Megan Kimes, Alexis Law, Kristina Loftin, Scott Magee, Rosa Martinez, Teresa Maryska, James McCain, Lynsey Mitchell, Robert Morgan, Brooke Mosley, Lynora Neuhaus, Holleen Nunn, Hayley Newcomb, Alex Oliveros, Justin Perimon, Reyna Pinto-Alegria, Allen Poage, Kassi Reynolds, Christian Rios, Edward Robbins, Kimberly Rodriguez, Britney Ross, Lauren Sanders, Kourtni Sanderson, Larissa Sanderson, Joseph Santiago, Cecilia Sarmiento, Ashley Schulze, Helen Sheffield, Rebecca Small, Jayla Smith, Joe Smith, Tristine Smith, Dara Song, Laronda Steadham, Sarah Steed, Daniel Stokes, Kimberly Stone, Mikayla Sudduth, Kristyn Terry,

Stephanie Thompson, Pedro Tinajeres-Ayala, Natalie Van Every, Veronica Vargas, Casondra Voyles, Justin Walker, Alicia Watts, Dustin West, Haley White, Catherine Whitton and Tyler Williams.

Students named Who’s Who at Angelina College include the following:

Sheridan E. Adair, Erick J. Alamo, Frank E. Alamo, Cindy R. Antimo, Garrett Augsburger, Bethany G. Baldwin, Ghazi Balis, Debbie M. Barlow, Amelia N. Birdwell, Kaydee M. Burgess, Hannah L. Cain, Kasandra Cartwright, Sarah Chaput, Martin F. Chavez, Kim. L. Chong, Jack L. Clark, Tanner W. Cockrell, Amanda R. Collie, Deniese R. Comeaux, Daniel Compean, James W. Copeland, Raymond D. Corbett, Eric S. Crane, Gina M. Dameron, Paola Delgado, Kimberly R. Divins, Karen N. Duran, Pamilia J. Estrada, Kayla N. Francone, Cady E. Fuller, Branndon Goodson, Christie L. Gore, Erika D. Gregory, Aida C. Griffin, Jacqulyn A. Grimm, Shannon R. Groce, Dionisio Guerrero, Wanda Gulley, Steven C. Harbuck, Kathia M. Harris, Cheyenne Hart, Kami R. Hart, Cristal A. Hernandez, Angelic A. Horton, Sabrina L. Johnson, Amber L. Jones, Hannah E. Jones, Kelly L. Kapraun, Ysleta Denise Kapraun, Emily T. Keller, Amanda L. Kendrick, William S. Kolb, Aneshia N. Lamb, Paul C. Lane, Kristina N. Loftin, Asucena Lopez, Joany Y. Lopez, Aldo C. Luna, Nicole L. Markle, Franchesca Martin, Lindsay S. Messner, Jessica L. O’Neill, Esther R. Parrott, Paloma Perez, Emily J. Piotrowski, Angela J. Powell, Uziel C. Rendon, Sofia Reyes, Jazmin A. Robles, Taylor B. Scott, Anna R. Shuffler, Rebecca C. Small, Katie M. Staggs, Daniel P. Stringer, Brenda D. Taylor, Jacob S. Taylor, Abigail Tlamasico, Hayden V. Woods and Jennifer J. Zarate.

Angelina College will hold its annual commencement ceremonies at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. on Saturday, May 14 inside the Activity Center on the AC campus.

Gary Stallard
Sports Information Director Gary Stallard, who also serves as a Liberal Arts Instructor, begins his eleventh season with Angelina College. Following a career as a U.S. Marine, Stallard completed his bachelor’s degree at Stephen F. Austin University, where he majored in English and Journalism. For more than 16 years, he has worked as a sports writer/columnist/photographer for the Lufkin Daily News; he continues to contribute free-lance articles on occasion. Stallard has won several awards for writing, including the Golden Hoops Award for basketball writing in 2003, Regional Sports Writer of the Year in 2004, and the Texas Press Association’s first-place award for column writing in 2007 and in 2014. He has also done basketball, football and baseball radio and live streaming play-by- play and color commentary for an ESPN affiliate. Currently Stallard serves as play-by-play broadcaster for AC basketball, baseball and softball games. Prior to arriving at Angelina College, Stallard taught English at Lufkin High School for four years. He currently teaches Developmental Writing classes at AC. He and his wife Susan live in Lufkin.

Share post:



More like this

Governor Abbott Proclaims 2024 Hurricane Preparedness Week in Texas

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott today raised awareness about...

Hurricane Preparedness 101: Essential Tips for Every Household

As hurricane season approaches, it's crucial for every household...

BoatUS Helps Boaters Prepare:‘Extremely Active’ 2024 Hurricane Season Expected

Free boat prep help at Colorado State University’s (CSU)...

Upcoming Texas House Committee Hearings: What You Need to Know

Following each legislative session, the Texas Lieutenant Governor and...