A Letter From FEMA May Require Follow-Up


AUSTIN, Texas – Texas storm survivors who receive a letter from FEMA that they are ineligiblefor disaster assistance should not give up—but should follow up instead. The issue may be as simple as a misprinted number or an unsigned document.

After registering with FEMA, applicants can expect a notice by mail about whether they qualify for federal disaster assistance. Read the letter carefully.

  • If eligible, the letter explains the amount of the grant and how it is to be used.
  • If ineligible—if the grant amount reads “0”—applicants may still qualify.

Applicants who are denied assistance can call the FEMA Helpline for an explanation why, or go online to DisasterAssistance.gov. A denial letter may mean the application is missing information such as verification of occupancy of the damaged property, proof of identity, documentation of disaster damage, or what is covered under an insurance policy. Call the FEMA Helpline if you do not receive a letter.

FEMA examines several factors to determine if a survivor will receive disaster assistance. The agency must be able to:

  • Verify disaster-related damage. If your property was inspected and you believe the inspector did not see all the damage, call the FEMA Helpline: 800-621-3362 (FEMA).
  • Collect an applicant’s insurance information.
  • Verify an applicant’s identity.
  • Verify home occupancy. Applicants must provide proof of occupancy such as a utility bill.

In Texas, federal disaster assistance is available to residents of Erath, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hood, Jasper, Limestone, Marion, Newton, Orange, Parker, Shelby and Tyler counties who suffered damage from the March 7-29 storms.

Survivors who suffered damage in the impacted counties are urged to register for assistance. To do so:

  • Go to DisasterAssistance.gov; or
  • By phone (voice, 711 or video relay service) at 800-621-3362 (FEMA), TTY 800-462-7585. Toll-free lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. local time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
  • Visit any disaster recovery center in the disaster-affected counties.

The deadline to register for federal assistance is May 18.

For more information on Texas recovery, visit the disaster webpage for the April storms at fema.gov/disaster/4266 or visit the Texas Division of Emergency Management website at txdps.state.tx.us/dem. Follow us on Twitter @femaregion6.

Share post:



More like this

Angelina College Theater Presents Comedy ‘Laundry and Bourbon’

Play Runs April 18-20 in AC’s Blackbox Lab Angelina College’s...

Keep Our Crews and Yourself Safe in Work Zones

The National Work Zone Awareness Week campaign highlights the...

Angelina College Athletics Weekly Update

We have legitimate “pennant races” with our Angelina College...

Drug Take Back Day

The Coalition, Angelina Beautiful/Clean, and the Angelina County Sheriff’s...