Nacogdoches City Manager Given Prestigious Award


LUFKIN – An advocate for past, present and future East Texas transportation needs was recognized by the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and the Texas Good Roads Association when he was surprised Tuesday night with the department’s coveted Road Hand Award.

Lufkin District Engineer Cheryl Flood presented Nacogdoches City Manager Jim Jeffers the award at the Nacogdoches City Council meeting.

The Road Hand Award was established in 1973 by former State Highway Engineer Luther DeBerry. He recognized that TxDOT owes much to its many supporters and worked to create the award as the highest tribute to citizens who freely give of their time to champion and support transportation projects.

Jeffers has shown a true commitment to supporting initiatives and helping to solve current and future transportation issues in Nacogdoches and Deep East Texas.

“Jim is a true transportation advocate,” said Lufkin District Engineer Cheryl Flood. “He continues to demonstrate strong support in East Texas and across the state of Texas. It is an honor for us to include him in the prestigious Road Hand group of honorees. He is dedicated to and is a true champion of the projects and developments that are a part of the growing transportation industry in Texas.”

Jeffers’ service includes work on The Alliance for I-69 Texas Board of Directors and supporting initiatives to upgrade US 59, US 77, US 281 and US 83. He has served on the I-69 Segment One committee, created in 2008 by the Texas Transportation Commission. He took a leadership role with the I-69 Angelina and Nacogdoches county committees to review transportation needs and made recommendations on the development of I-69 through Nacogdoches County. He has also been instrumental in the formation of and has served as Chairman of the Deep East Texas Rural Transportation Planning Organization, which empowers local officials to address and prioritize transportation needs, and has worked diligently for the expansion of FM 2609/Austin Street and FM 1878/Starr Avenue.

Road Hand recipient names are inscribed on the Road Hand Hall of Honor plaque which hangs in the foyer of the historic Dewitt C. Greer Highway Building in Austin. Since its inception, more than 200 citizens have been named from around the state.

For more information, contact or (936) 633-4395.

Misty Boggs
Misty Boggs is the Creative Director at MSGPR. She lives in Angelina County and recently earned her bachelor's degree in Public Relations and a minor in Creative Writing at Stephen F. Austin State University in 2020. She is currently working on obtaining her MBA from Lamar University. Between studying and working, she enjoys teaching her niece and nephew the fine art of never growing old.

Share post:



More like this

Governor Abbott Provides Update On Ongoing Response Efforts Following Hurricane Beryl

AUSTIN – Governor Greg Abbott announced today that Texas...

TxDOT Continues Cleanup After Beryl

LUFKIN – TxDOT crews in the Lufkin District began storm...

Stay Prepared: Texas Hurricane Readiness and Legislative Updates

Our region of Texas is all too familiar with...

Angelina College Weekly Update

Hey, sports fans, This past week saw the Roadrunner family...