Angelina College Releases Fall 2023 President’s List


Angelina College officials and faculty members are pleased to release the names of 87 students named to the President’s Honor List for the Fall 2023 semester.

To qualify, students must have enrolled in at least 12 semester hours of college-level work and have attained a grade point average of 4.0.

The names of students who make the President’s Honor List are posted at the end of each long semester.

Following is the list, divided by town or city of residency, of students named to the President’s Honor List:


Arlet Castro and Jaycie Richardson.

Apple Springs

Ashley Contreras.


Hayden Hupe.


Marissa Blanton.


Jack Kilmer.


Eric Davis.


Zackery Purvis.


Christopher Hernandez.


Caden Chambers, Cristian Compean, Mayra Medina, Dhwani Patel, Myriam Plascencia, Anna Romero and Heidi Wilsie.


Lexie Mooney.


 Jackson Ortiz and Madison Stokes.


 Gabriela Silva.  

Heredia, Costa Rica

Tannia Diaz.


 Jimmy Cassels and Aubraysha Lacy.


Alan Markley, Zahra Martinez, Chase Phillips and Jazmine Santoyo-Arias.

Laoag City, Philippines

Mir Raciv T. Tayamen


 Brooke Pond and Christian Schanmier.


Kristina Aji, Julia Aleman, Spencer Alexander, Mark Jade B. Bagonoc, Alyssa Campbell, Alexis Chavez, Addison Chay, Whitney Cole, Ramiyah Cranford, Kassidy Denning, Adamari Escobedo, Isaac Estrada, Itzel Flores, Kathryn Gage, Naydi Gonzales, Jose Gonzalez, Marcus Hadnot, Robert Hansard, Maddyn Hartzog, Kanaan Holder, Elianna Jane B. Ilo, Madeline Johnson, Kallie Knierim, Chyenne Koller, Alexander Kuhne, Trinity Landin, Evelyn Maure, Taniya McCollough, Jesse McLain, Augustina Mezzano, Cy Ochoa, Mariela Palacios, Emily Sanchez, Teresita Santoya, Tess Scogin, Jordan Stringer, Khalil Sweats, Alexander Walker, Kaylee Washburn, John Weisenberger, Logan Wilkerson, Parker Winthrop and Emily Zheng.

Melbourne, Australia

Hatice Kahraman.


 Joshua Garcia, Diego Guerrero, Tiffany Jeanfavre, Hailey Porter, Brandon Rowell and Anahi Vazquez.

New Ulm

Ryan Lewis.


 Leonardo Jacob and Sabrina Weathers.

San Augustine

Camden Boyette.


Emma Kovasovic.


Kaetlyn Dunbar.


Phillip Thomas.


Antoinette Herberger.

Gary Stallard
Sports Information Director Gary Stallard, who also serves as a Liberal Arts Instructor, begins his eleventh season with Angelina College. Following a career as a U.S. Marine, Stallard completed his bachelor’s degree at Stephen F. Austin University, where he majored in English and Journalism. For more than 16 years, he has worked as a sports writer/columnist/photographer for the Lufkin Daily News; he continues to contribute free-lance articles on occasion. Stallard has won several awards for writing, including the Golden Hoops Award for basketball writing in 2003, Regional Sports Writer of the Year in 2004, and the Texas Press Association’s first-place award for column writing in 2007 and in 2014. He has also done basketball, football and baseball radio and live streaming play-by- play and color commentary for an ESPN affiliate. Currently Stallard serves as play-by-play broadcaster for AC basketball, baseball and softball games. Prior to arriving at Angelina College, Stallard taught English at Lufkin High School for four years. He currently teaches Developmental Writing classes at AC. He and his wife Susan live in Lufkin.

Share post:



More like this

Work Beginning on San Jacinto County Bridge

LUFKIN – A pre-construction meeting was held last week signaling...

Angelina College Weekly Update

Hey, sports fans, Our first week of youth sports camps...

A Tale of Two Algae

The most frequent question that I’ve received in the...