Nacogdoches Public Library Announces Fourth Annual National Poetry Month Contest Winners


The decision is in and The Judy B. McDonald Public Library is pleased to announce the winners of the Fourth Annual National Poetry Month Contest.

In the adult category, first place was awarded to Mary Hanes, second place went to Karl D. Kerr, and third place to Aaron Smith.  In the high school category, Carson Matter won first place, second place went to Abbey Franke, and Cameron Bosshard received third place.

“We would like to congratulate all of the participants,” says Crystal Hicks, assistant library director.  “We also want to thank Donna Cook of Central Heights ISD for serving as our judge.  National Poetry is a fantastic celebration of creativity and the power of language.”

The library is planning a full slate of programs for the summer, so stay tuned to Facebook at Judy B. McDonald Public Library, Twitter at friendsofnacpl, and Instagram @friendsofnacpl.

Grace Baldwin
(Bethany) Grace Baldwin has an Associate Degree in Journalism from Angelina College and is working on a double major of English and Journalism at Stephen F. Austin State University. She thoroughly enjoys reading, writing, and has an indelible passion for words.

Share post:



More like this

A Gathering of Winners

Angelina College Softball’s 2014 National Champs Celebrated at Reunion...

Angelina College’s School of Visual and Performing Arts Celebrates Scholarship Recipients

Incoming, Returning Students Recognized in Ceremony In a relatively new...

Building A Commercial Demand Response System: Power Your Property and Pocket the Benefits

In the evolving landscape of energy management, commercial property...

Elevating Your Culinary Game: From Home Cook to Home Chef in Texas Forest Country

In Texas Forest Country, where family meals are a...